The much-anticipated AL Cy Young award winner was announced last night in a historic day in Tampa Bay Rays history. The competition for the league’s top pitcher was really between David Price and Detroit’s Justin Verlander, who received all but one of the first place votes.

Price won the voting by a very slim margin of four points over the reigning Cy Young and and MVP award-winner Verlander, who also made a great case to add to his accolades with a 17-8 record and a 2.64 ERA with the AL Champion Tigers. However, the BWAA decided that Price’s numbers—20-5, 2.56 ERA (MLB-best) and 211 innings pitched—were more worthy of the honor.

The Price-Verlander debate was definitely a good one from the start, and the decision really could of went either way. Verlander had the advantage in WAR and innings pitched, but Price lead in the crucial ERA category, making it a very close call.

Congrats to David! Rays Republic hopes their star southpaw stays in Tampa for many years to come!

More Rays news and notes:

  • New York’s R.A. Dickey took home the NL Cy Young, becoming the first knuckleballer ever to win the award.
  • looks at the best pitchers in Rays history.
  • Ken Rosenthal of writes about the Tampa’s potential interest in Royals’ top prospect Wil Meyers.
  • Here’s Price’s reaction on winning the award: